Reflections

After reading through most of my classmates’ blog, I’ve realised that there’s so much I’m lacking of and so much to learn from. It’s pretty amazing and interesting to watch how they got creative with their blog layouts, styles and content.

In love crying emoji

I’m honestly very inspired by many of their work!

Among all the blog posts, the two that I’ve commented on, each have its unique take on this given topic. Both of which made this seemingly mundane topic more interesting and got me thinking a bit.

Jasmine’s Blog

Jasmine adopted a casual tone which made it really light-heartening to read. It was very smart of her to share her own social media experiences and used memes which are very relatable measures to keep readers engaged! That aside, I do agree with her that many of us are or transiting to Digital “Residents”. However, I feel that we would tend to take on and switch between both “Visitors” and “Residents” roles, given our motivations. In challenge to this typology, it is possible to say that we have a main role and a secondary role in our online technology engagement. What are your thoughts?

Yi Lin’s Blog

unique

Yi Lin’s post was rather different from others.

She kicked off her post with a simple table; explaining the new typology. That would give readers a clear idea of the typology, just by one look at the image. What impressed me was her last paragraph. She quoted “When there’s a will, there’s a way”. This statement is a clear and strong opposition against Prensky’s typology. I absolutely agree with her! Although age and culture differences may be barriers to active online engagement, the willingness to learn can definitely break these barriers.

So many takeaways from my classmates! This is certainly an awesome start to this new online learning experience. Looking forward to the next session!

Leave a comment